Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Record Recap: IAMX ~ Kingdom of Welcome Addiction

April 24, 2009


What exactly is IAMX? Electronic? Rock? You really can’t accurately convey to someone what IAMX is; it has to be heard. And this is exactly the point of it.

Kingdom of Welcome Addiction is the third album from Chris Corner’s IAMX. While the album stays consistent with past efforts in terms of its danceable qualities, dark lyrics, and strong, soaring vocals, it possesses a slightly different formula than The Alternative and Kiss & Swallow. The majority of the tracks are structured around hooks rather than being led by Corner’s vocals. It takes some getting used to. The album feels a bit more mellow and thoughtful than The Alternative, which is much more visceral.

The record seems to deal with the theme of settling into oneself, despite an addiction. The last elements of an internal struggle dissipate in the ‘Nature of Inviting’; surrendering to a power, in a love/hate relationship. In the title track, the lyrics ‘suck at life’ seem a tad pedestrian, but this melancholy march speaks of taking ownership of a fault, and is ultimately an empowering song. ‘TearGarden’, a song about lustful aggression, possesses that half step down in notes that just tugs at my soul- despite my distaste for the name. ‘My Secret Friend’, featuring Imogen Heap, is a very synthy, lightly veiled love song to substances. ‘An I for An I’ is industrial, aggressive, and foreboding; warning about an imminent disaster. Lines such as “we owe it to the sex toys, to the icons of our time” are followed up by the rare bit of guitar. This is proceeded by ‘I Am Terrified’, a stripped down love/lust song with very poignant lyrics:

“I am terrified
I think too much
I get emotional
When I drink too much
I buy every cry
Cause I don’t trust
I am terrified
I think too much”

‘Think of England’ is a transitional song about gathering strength again, and is pointedly biographical in referencing where Corner lives, in Berlin. ‘The Stupid The Proud’ is the most theatrical, telling a story; “God is dead, we get to sleep tonight”, brings up religion and gender themes. ‘You Can Be Happy has a middle eastern intro, and discusses empowerment with a positive beat. ‘The Great Shipwreck of Life’ feels very eighties, and more like it belongs on The Alternative. “I’ll be Peter Pan and you just be pretty”. Acceptance is the message. ‘Running’ has a ‘Closer’-like beat with very melancholy vocals. The tone is ‘sleepy after staying out all night’. A reflective track, the album ends with this comfortable downer.

Kingdom of Welcome Addiction is as equally well crafted as past IAMX albums, however, it’s tone keeps it from becoming immediately attachable. By listen 3, you’ll start to understand.

Kingdom of Welcome Addiction is available on May 19, 2009.

1. “Nature Of Inviting”
2. “Kingdom Of Welcome Addiction”
3. “Tear Garden”
4. “My Secret Friend” (featuring Imogen Heap)
5. “An I For An I”
6. “I Am Terrified”
7. “Think Of England”
8. “The Stupid The Proud”
9. “You Can Be Happy”
10. “The Great Shipwreck Of Life”
11. “Running”

Youtubes of some of the new songs:

I Am Terrified:


You can see IAMX at Slim’s on June 9th


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts

HardRockChick's Top 10 Albums of 2009

It was actually a pretty easy process to pick my top 10 albums for 2009. All I had to do…

December 20, 2009

Thoughts on Albums: Behemoth ~ Evangelion

Sometimes an album comes along at just the right time, and everything clicks. For me, Behemoth’s Evangelion sounds like how…

July 28, 2009

Record Recap: Marilyn Manson/The High End of the Low

First let me get this out of the way- I HATE the cover art for this album. What is going…

May 31, 2009

Record Recap: Fischerspooner ~ Entertainment

Fischerspooner, a Kraftwerk and Depeche Mode influenced ‘electro-clash’ duo from Brooklyn, is one of the more interesting live acts out…

April 25, 2009

BRMC's The Effects of 333

BRMC released their latest album, The Effects of 333, at 3:33am on November 1. A psychedelic industrial soundscape, the album…

November 2, 2008
< 1

record recap: M.I.A.'s Kala

Having been fortunate enough to hear most of Kala’s tracks face to face with M.I.A., I’d been not so patiently…

September 3, 2007
< 1

Record Recap: The Smashing Pumpkins' Zeitgeist

Billy Corgan is trying really, really hard to redeem himself. He’s been quite the whipping boy for the press over…

July 22, 2007
< 1

Record Recap: Velvet Revolver's Libertad

As many of you read, I had an exciting time seeing Velvet Revolver a couple of months ago. At this…

July 21, 2007
< 1

Record Recap: The White Stripes 'Icky Thump'

The White Stripes are one of the most critically acclaimed rock bands around today. Detroit American rock with a Southern…

July 6, 2007
< 1

Record Recap: Marilyn Manson's Eat Me, Drink Me

Manson’s 6th studio album, Eat Me, Drink Me, is one of his best. Mr. Shock Rocker has matured from being…

June 22, 2007